Tidbit Times

Tiny Tidbits of my Time

Christmas in July ~ A Christmas Photo Collection Book July 21, 2012

Filed under: Crafty Bits — tidbittimes @ 9:16 am
Tags: , , ,

With all this severe heat we’ve been experiencing this summer, I thought it was a perfect time to recall the cooler days of Christmastime.  Each Christmas we are blessed to receive so many cards and photos.  Up to this point I would group each year’s photo cards together and put them in a box.  When I saw this idea I thought what a perfect thing to do with all those Christmas photos sitting in a basket next to my crafting desk!  So, today we are celebrating Christmas in July with a Christmas photo collection book.

Supplies:

Christmas scrapbook paper

Cardboard or Cardstock

 3 Book Rings

Rubber Cement or other adhesive

Ribbon

Christmas Photo Cards from the year

First, I sorted all the Christmas photos by size.  This way I knew how long and wide I needed to make the covers of my book.

Next, I cut two cardboard pieces to fit the largest and longest cards.

Then, I cut the Christmas themed scrapbook paper to the size of the cardboard.  I glued the paper to the cardboard using rubber cement.

The most intense part of this project is three-hole punching each of the photos so they fit together just right.  I punched the longest card and then used it as a template to punch the holes in the cover and the rest of the photos.

Hold your book together with book rings.  I tied ribbon to the rings to make it look pretty.

I also added a stamped title to the front of the book.

I’m going to plan to set my books out with my other Christmas decorations so the pictures can be enjoyed year after year.  It will be fun to see the changes as all the kids grow up.  I just can’t throw away those beautiful cards that people spend so much money on.  This way I have them collected in a way that I will surely look at them again and again.

 

One Response to “Christmas in July ~ A Christmas Photo Collection Book”

  1. Kathy Penney Says:

    Super cute! I’ve been getting excited about the holidays with all the great pins I’ve been seeing.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 713 other followers