Tidbit Times

Tiny Tidbits of my Time

Ribbon Memo Board – Trains of course! May 26, 2011

Filed under: Crafty Bits — tidbittimes @ 3:38 pm
Tags: ,

I have been searching stores for a ribbon memo board that would work in Will’s room.  There just are not any cute boards out there for boys.  Of course I had it in my head that it needed to be a train theme as well, so that narrowed my options even more.  Being a crafty person I thought, “I can make one of those things!”  I dialed up my friend, “Google”, and found some step-by-step instructions to make my own train themed memo board.  Well, I do have to say that Chris helped – he operated the staple gun!  I think our team-effort turned out pretty okay!

Here are the supplies I started with:

Supplies: 14 x 14 canvas, quilting batting, material, ribbon, decorative brads

1)  It was very quick and easy to make.  I think it took us less than an hour — 45 minutes maybe.  Just cut the quilt batting to the size of your canvas and the material a couple of inches larger.

                                                                                         

2) Fold tightly over the canvas and staple to the side of the canvas.  Be sure to make smooth corners by folding them in an almost triangular shape (see photos).

                         

3) Next stretch the ribbon from corner to corner making an “X” on the front.  Staple the ribbon in place on back of the board.

            

4) Lastly, push a decorative brad through the center of each ribbon cross, batting and canvas.  Secure it to the canvas in back. 

Now I”m ready to find a place to hang it in Will’s room. 

 

Leave a Reply

