Tidbit Times

Tiny Tidbits of my Time

stART~ I Ain’t Gonna Paint No More August 25, 2011

Filed under: StART Bits — tidbittimes @ 10:01 pm
Tags: , , , ,

We found a gem of a book at the library!  It became a favorite at our house the last few weeks.  If you haven’t read “I Ain’t Gonna Paint No More” by Karen Beaumont you must check it out!  It is a charming story about a little boy who gets into a lot of mischief with his paint brush and paints.  His mama puts them up in the closet, but he needs to paint some more.  The best line in the book is the mama saying, “Ya ain’t’ a-gonna paint NO more!”  I just love it!  The book is written like a song (maybe it is originally a song, I don’t know).  It goes through the boy painting his whole body part by part.  The author uses rhyming words to tell the story.  CAUTION:  Your daycare provider may ask you why your child is suddenly saying, “Oh heck” all the time.  When we asked Will who he heard say that he promptly responded that it was from that paintin’ book.  Oh yes….oh heck I’m gonna paint my neck. 

Of course for our project we had to do some painting!  All summer I’ve been wanting to try liquid sidewalk chalk.  I had seen the recipe for it by Maggie at Smashed Peas and Carrots.  Tonight we gave it a whirl.  Will LOVED it (and his mommy had a fun time as well).  I think this will be a repeat activity at our house.  Give it a try if you get a chance. 

 

Liquid Sidewalk Chalk

1 cup corn starch

1 cup water

food coloring

Mix the corn starch and water.  Divide it evenly into a muffin tin or small cups.  Add food coloring.

 

 

We used foam brushes to paint the driveway.  I was impressed at how vividly the colors dried. 

 

One Response to “stART~ I Ain’t Gonna Paint No More”

  1. Always been a favorite book at our house too, my husband’s especially! The liquid sidewalk chalk looks so fun!


Leave a Reply

