Tidbit Times

Tiny Tidbits of my Time

Spiderman Birthday Party ~ Part 2 ~ Decorations & Favors March 31, 2012

Filed under: Crafty Bits — tidbittimes @ 9:34 am
Tags: , , , , ,

I had so much fun creating all these fun decorations and favors for Will’s birthday party.  My Cricut machine sure got a workout like it has never had before.

I didn’t have a lot of decorations for the party, but when I saw these call-out signs on Jolly Mom, I had to give them a try!  There are printable templates available on Jolly Mom.  I decided to recreate them using my Cricut machine.  I found the call-out shape on the “Plantin’ Schoolbook” cartridge and the letters came from “Opposites Attract”.

I cut out the regular shape in various colored cardstock and then did the shadow image of the shape in black cardstock.  I did a coordinating color cardstock for the letters.

I added a wooden skewer to each sign so that they could be held by the kids in pictures or be stuck in buckets as part of the decorations.  This worked slick!  I taped the skewer to the black paper with scotch tape and then used adhesive to attached the colored piece on top.

I had each child pick a call-out sign to hold and took their picture in front of the cake table and the city background.  I later used these pictures as thank-you cards.  Here we see the cutie sisters, Bella and Sophia!  One day when I was shopping in the dollar section at Target, I found those cute little Spiderman pails.  I filled each pail with Will’s favorite kinds of candy (licorice, gummy worms, salt water taffy and fireballs -just had those on hand) and stuck a call-out sign in each of those.

Thanks to the Jolly Mom, again, we had these adorable no-sew superhero capes as party favors for all the kids.  A BIG THANK YOU goes out to my mom, mother-in-law and aunt-in-law for helping me with these capes.  We made about 20 capes in two hours one Sunday afternoon.  (and yes, I do realize that Spiderman doesn’t really have a cape, but just go with it for the party theme)

We started with two different colors of felt.  I can’t quite remember how much I bought.  It was probably 2-4 yards of each color.  We ended up with just about enough and some left over pieces.

When you visit Jolly Mom there is a printable pattern to use to cut out the capes.  We pinned the pattern to the folded felt and started cutting away!

From the scrap pieces we cut oval shapes and sewed them to the back of each cape.  Inside each oval we put the child’s initial that I freehand cut out of felt.  We used craft glue to glue the letters on.  Nancy sewed the ovals on to the capes and Pam ironed the capes and stuck velcro on the straps of the cape (using the self-stick velcro).

The capes didn’t seem like that big of a hit at the party, but several parents have told me they are a big hit at home.  Some kids even have slept in their superhero capes!  I wish I would have gotten a group picture of the kids in their capes, but with so many little ones it was just too hard to orchestrate it.

I wasn’t going to do any favors beside the superhero capes, but then I saw this pattern in the new Close To My Heart catalog and just HAD to make them!  I never got a picture of the favors with the goodies inside, but they had a twirly straw, Spiderman tattoos, Spiderman cookie and Pixie sticks.

I cut the fry boxes out on my Cricut using the CTMH “Art Philosophy” cartridge using the CTMH Superhero paper pack.  They were simple to cut and fold together.  To embellish them I cut the cityscape, call-out and “4” from the “Plantin Schoolbook” cartridge.  I found the Spiderman stickers at Wal-Mart.  These favors were a big hit!

 

3 Responses to “Spiderman Birthday Party ~ Part 2 ~ Decorations & Favors”

  1. Angela Perz Says:

    Can u please help me or tell me WHERE I can get a template for those CALLOUT signs???


Leave a Reply

