Tidbit Times

Tiny Tidbits of my Time

Baby Shower Fun April 23, 2012

Filed under: Crafty Bits — tidbittimes @ 3:08 pm
Tags: , , ,

At the end of March our group of girlfriends hosted a baby shower for our friend and her new baby girl, Jocelyn.  It was a nice afternoon.  I’d like to share with you a few of the crafts we did in preparation for the event.

Paper Baby Shoe Favors

Stork Diaper Bundle

Name Pennant

Paper Baby Shoes


I pinned the idea for the paper baby shoes on Pintrest because I knew that I just had to make these for the next person I knew who was having their first baby.  They are a little labor intensive, but turned out oh, so cute!

You can get step-by-step directions and the template from Clemen’s Designs.

Materials:

Shoe Template

Scrapbook Paper 8-1/2 x 11″  (fits 2 to a page)

Scissors

Glue

Buttons

Ribbon for bows

 

I started by tracing the template on a piece of 8-1/2 x 11 scrapbook paper.  I was able to trace 2 to a sheet.   To save myself time, I just photo copied the template to the remaining papers.  The one thing I didn’t think of is reversing the second copied template to create a left and right shoe.  We ended up having all right foot shoes at the party.  As my good friend, Shawn said, “She’ll be starting out on the right foot, then!”  PERFECT!

Next, the most intensive part of this project is cutting out all the pieces.  See all those notches – ugh!  I was really wishing this template was available on a Cricut cartridge somewhere.  It was a good project to just park yourself in front of the TV and cut, cut, cut.

The next step was assembly.  I’m thankful I had a couple of friends to come over and help me with this part.  Working with friends is always fun!

With each cut out template, fold the notches/flaps inward towards the wrong side of the paper.  Mark the third notch from the end with the long strap piece.  Place a dot of glue on this tab and glue it to the back middle of the heel.  Continue gluing the tabs down to the sole of the shoe until you are done.  IMPORTANT:  if you don’t start gluing  with the correct tab your shoe will not look right.  As my friend, Emily said, “It sort of looks like this one belongs to someone with Club Foot.”  When you have the shoe attached to the sole finish it off by gluing the side of the strap to the side of the shoe and pull the strap across the shoe and glue.

Last, add the fun details.  We added a pink button to the strap and a black and white ribbon/bow to the front of each shoe.    You can fill the shoe with just about anything.  We used peanuts and M&Ms.  These were a big hit at the shower.

***

Stork Diaper Bundle

 

Big thank you to Jen for making the Stork Diaper Bundle.  The idea came from a post on Pintrest by Cricut.  There aren’t many instructions on how to make this, but it is pretty self explanatory, I think.   The stork and congratulations bubble are cut from the “New Arrivals” Cricut cartridge (I borrowed from my friend, Kellie — thanks!).  A new mom can always use lots and lots of diapers!

***

Name Pennant

I made the name pennant using the Close To My Heart Art Philosophy Cricut cartridge.  I cut each pennant out of the same paper that I used for the paper baby shoes.  I tied them together with black and white polka dot ribbon.  Next, I cut the letters out of black and white paper using the “Plantin’ Schoolbook” cartridge (I think).   Last, I added black and white paper flowers as accents.  We attached the pennant to the table-cloth using safety pins.

 ***

I think Jocelyn enjoyed her special day!

 

One Response to “Baby Shower Fun”

  1. Jodi Says:

    SOOOOOO cute!


Leave a Reply

