Tidbit Times

Tiny Tidbits of my Time

stART ~ The Sun is My Favorite Star May 24, 2012

Filed under: StART Bits — tidbittimes @ 10:21 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

After a long (too long) of a break from our stART projects, we are going to try to get back on board for the summer.  We kicked off this week by reading “The Sun is My Favorite Star” by Frank Asch.  This is a simple, yet informational, book about all the things the sun does for us.  A great topic to kick off summer, right?

For our project we made Sunshine Cupcakes to share with our neighbors and daycare friends.  The idea came from Pintrest via Taste of Home.

I started by baking the cupcakes, yes, straight from the boxed mix!  I know, super fancy!  I also used the canned frosting.

Will helped with the decorating portion of the project.  He had a great time and it even kept his attention until we were done.  After that project, he did not have the patience to visit with our neighbors when we dropped them off.

Materials:

Boxed Cake Mix

Canned Frosting (white)

Food Coloring or Paste (yellow & red)

Mini Chocolate Chips

Candy Corn

Yellow Sprinkles (optional)

After I frosted the cupcakes, Will was the official sprinkle guy.  Note we did this on a plastic tray so the many, many, many extra sprinkles could be returned to the bottle to reuse.  If I were to do this project again, I’d suggest skipping the sprinkles since it make it hard to stick the rest of the candy on.

Next, we placed two mini chocolate chips near the center to make the sun’s eyes.  I used red frosting to draw the smile.  The recipe suggested using red licorice for the smile.  The frosting worked pretty slick.

Last, we added candy corn candies around the perimeter of the cupcake to make the sun’s rays.

You are my sunshine!!!!

 

One Response to “stART ~ The Sun is My Favorite Star”

  1. A perfect way to make any day fun and awesome. A delicious, sweet and playful sunshine!


Leave a Reply

