Tidbit Times

Tiny Tidbits of my Time

Decorative pom-pom Lanterns May 28, 2012

Filed under: Crafty Bits — tidbittimes @ 4:40 pm
Tags: , , ,

I’ve been so excited to share this project with you.  Since I found out we were having a little girl (any day now), I started pinning tons of these pom-pom lantern things that are so popular.  I pinned tissue paper ones, rosettes made from crepe paper and then found these gorgeous lanterns made from fabric.  BINGO these were IT!  I found the idea on Pintrest which led me to a tutorial on A Simple Kind of Life.

This project was really pretty easy.  You don’t need many materials, but you need lots and lots and lots of time.  These things really were labor-intensive, but I LOVE how they turned out.  I could hardly wait to get them hung up once they were done.

Here’s what you’ll need.

Paper Lanterns (I found a cheap 3 pack of lanterns at Hobby Lobby in their Spring aisle)

Fabric (you will need about 2 yd. of fabric for the smaller lanterns and 3-4 yd. for the large one)

Good pair of scissors

Hot Glue Gun and Glue Sticks

Circle template and pen (I used 3-inch circles on the small & medium lanterns & 4-inch circles on the large)

First, I traced my circle pattern on to the fabric.  After the first lantern I learned to double the fabric and cut two at a time.  I also learned I needed new fabric scissors since my thumb was numb for nearly a week using dull scissors.  The plain fabrics work a little better since they are the same color on both sides, but the patterned one turned out okay, too.

This part takes a while as well, but it can be a relaxing activity to do while watching a movie or catching up on your television shows.  I enjoyed re-watching many episodes of Glee Season 1 making these lanterns.  (love that show)  Let me tell you that each lantern takes hundreds of circles to cover it and make it look full and fluffy.  I’m guessing the large lantern has nearly 500 circles on it.  I really should have kept track of how many I cut and glued.

Now for the finished product hung up.  My husband graciously put eyelet hooks in the ceiling.  We hung each lantern using white, glittered tulle.  See what you think.  I think it was the perfect girlie addition to our baby’s nursery.  Now she just needs to get here!

 

One Response to “Decorative pom-pom Lanterns”


Leave a Reply

