Tidbit Times

Tiny Tidbits of my Time

Decorating (and Redecorating) the Nursery September 2, 2012

Filed under: Crafty Bits — tidbittimes @ 9:52 pm
Tags: , , ,

If you’ve been following me this spring and summer, you know we got the surprise of our life on the afternoon of June 5th.  Our little girl we had been anticipating and planning for with all the frills entered the world as a baby BOY!  So, not everyone gets to decorate both a baby girl AND baby boy nursery in a matter of a few weeks….but we did!  Here is the front seat tour of the before (girl) and after (boy) nurseries.  Enjoy!

So I used polka-dots for both rooms (inspiration from the Pottery Barn catalog).  For the girl’s room I cut white vinyl circles from my Cricut machine and carefully measured them across the wall — every dot in its place.  For the boy’s room my mother-in-law painted three sizes of circle randomly on the wall. I think I preferred the evenly spaced circles, but the random ones are growing on me.  Luckily, I didn’t spend any extra money on the bedding.  The girl bedding was borrowed from my niece and the boy bedding we used with our first son.   Now let’s take a closer look above the crib.

In the girl’s room I painted the shape above the crib where the canvases would be hung.  For the boy’s room I skipped the shape and just used the wrapped canvases.  My great friend, Suzie, of Defined Impressions took Bennett’s pictures when he was six days old.  I had the canvases (20″ x 24″ and 16″ x 19″)  made at Sam’s Club.  This is my favorite part of the room — they turned out so beautiful!  I used my Cricut machine to cut out the “B” and name – Bennett James.

If you read Bennett’s birth story, you may remember my first thought when they told me it was a boy was “Oh no, what am I going to do with those lanterns I spent so many hours making and love so much?”.  Well, I was able to salvage the white lantern and then bought two blue paper lanterns at Target.  The pink ones are down in my office waiting to either be hung or find a new home (sniff sniff).

So I took the pink changing pad cover back to Wal-Mart, but in the meantime they quit carrying those.  I searched and found a blue one with while polka-dots at Target.  My mother-in-law in all her craftiness used the liner from the pink and brown basket and sewed me a blue and brown liner.  I love it even better than the pink version!  The cute little pink garbage can to the right of the dresser is now in my scrapbooking room.  The blue lamp was once in Will’s room and could be used again!

I was able to use the big diaper pin from Pottery Barn (my favorite purchase when I had Will) again.  I really had to talk my husband into painting the circle behind it in the girl’s room.  We are still in “talks” about re-painting a brown circle in the boy’s room.  I WILL WIN THIS BATTLE 😉  See the beautiful quilt on the rocker?  My aunt had made what I’m sure was a beautiful girl quilt that was just waiting for the name and date.  Little did she know she’d be making a whole new quilt.  It is gorgeous, and I can’t believe she had it made in about 2 weeks.

The tu-tu table and feather lamp….these items are still sitting in my basement waiting for a home.  I do admit I’m still using the jeweled pink clock, but it is hidden behind the basket on the changing table.  You will see the pink magnetic baby frame was spray painted blue and is behind the piggy bank.  The area above the dresser is still a work in progress.

So there it is….the decorating and re-decorating of the baby’s room.  I think God has taught me a life lesson in no matter how in control I may want to be HE is ultimately in control.  We are so blessed with our sweet, cuddly, laid back smiley and all BOY, Bennett James!

 

2 Responses to “Decorating (and Redecorating) the Nursery”

  1. I sent this blog link to a family member who had the SAME experience . . . girl nursery, girl name, girl baby shower, girl clothes . . . and then a little boy popped out! 🙂 But he’s such a blessing! Your nursery (both versions!) is lovely. 🙂


Leave a Reply

