Tidbit Times

Tiny Tidbits of my Time

Initial Frames January 7, 2013

Filed under: Crafty Bits — tidbittimes @ 3:08 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

Initial Teacher Frames

I wanted to share with you the gifts I made for Will’s preschool teachers and a slight variation on this gift I made for my office co-worker friends.  I did hi-jack this idea from my friend, Tanya, when we were gone on our annual scrapbooking trip to Minnesota.  She was doing the same for her sons’ teachers and her co-workers.  I loved the idea so much I had to copy her. 😉

IMG_3254

First, I found two 8 x 10 frames.  I found these frames at Michael’s Crafts.  Next, I cut a piece of scrapbook paper to fit the frame.  We found this super cute paper that looks like handwriting paper at Crafts Direct in St. Cloud, MN.  I wish I would have picked up a few more pieces.  It was just perfect for the teacher gifts!

IMG_3258

In order to turn the frame into a hanging piece I added two prong hangers to the back of the frame and strung it with hanging wire.  This was the hardest part of the whole project.

IMG_3257

I attached the prongs right to the cardboard backing piece of the frame rather than the wood of the frame.

IMG_3256

One on each side.

IMG_3253

I found ribbon that matched the paper I used to cut out the teacher’s initial  for the frame.  I cut them about 4 inches long.  I think I used about a spool of each color for each picture.

Halloween 015

I tied one end of the hanging wire to the frame, but left the other end untied.  I started tying the ribbons to the wire in a pattern.  I tied them really close together to create a fuller look.  When you get close to the opposite end tie the other end of the wire to the prong.

 teacher frames

Here are the finished teacher frames.  I cut the initials out of another piece of scrapbook paper using my Cricut machine (Alphalicious cartridge).  Lastly, I hand wrote the teacher’s name below the initial.  I have to add here that we are so thankful for Mrs. Tams and Miss Congdon who have enriched our little guy’s life with so many great learning experiences at preschool!

IMG_0134

Here is the variation on the initial frame that I made for my co-workers in the office.  I used a 5 x7 frame and cream paper with black stripes for the background (Jo-Ann Fabrics).  Instead of making it a hanging picture, I added three ribbons tied around the base of the frame.  The frame just stands on its own.  I also used their first name initial instead of last name.

 

Leave a Reply

