Tidbit Times

Tiny Tidbits of my Time

Handmade Baby Announcement January 11, 2013

Filed under: Crafty Bits — tidbittimes @ 12:59 pm
Tags: , ,

Handmade Birth Announcements

So this post is a “bit” delayed, but wanted to share it with you anyway.  As I’ve said before I tend to like to do things the hard, time-consuming way.  I handmade birth announcements for both of my boys.  My Bennett was born in June.  Prior to this I spent a lot of time on Pintrest looking for inspiration.  I found several ideas, but this was by far my favorite.

Amelia_BirthAnnouncement1-749x1024

You can find the link here at One Canoe Two.

All of the baby’s information is printed on a cardstock slip of paper that is then wrapped around the picture.  I created a template of the baby’s information using Microsoft Word.  I printed them out using colored ink on white cardstock and then cut them into strips.

IMG_2617

Next, I used a decorative edge punch on the long sides to make it more visually appealing.  This was the hardest part.  My hand sure hurt after completing this step.

IMG_2618

Doesn’t it look better with a decorative edge?

IMG_2619

Next, I added some color using stamps with blue and brown ink.

IMG_2620

IMG_2621

My amazing friend, Suzie, of Defined Impressions, took Bennett’s pictures shortly after he was born.  I used Pic Monkey to create a custom collage card to accommodate the paper band of information.

Bennett Announcement_2

Isn’t he too sweet?  Man, they grow up way too fast!

Last, I wrapped the paper band around the picture and used adhesive to secure the ends at the back of the photo.

IMG_2622

If this wasn’t crazy enough I also decided to make my own envelopes using the Martha Stewart Scoring Board.  You know every new mom always has extra time on her hands, right?  HA!  Even though I’m a little nutty, I still really enjoy making handmade things.  It is actually a stress-reliever for me (most times).

IMG_0433

Here is my Bennett James this week turning 7 months old!  I just love his baby blues and those chunky thighs!

 

Leave a Reply

