Tidbit Times

Tiny Tidbits of my Time

Shamrock Garland March 16, 2013

Filed under: Crafty Bits — tidbittimes @ 9:40 am
Tags: , , ,

Shamrock Garland title

One of my favorite blogs I follow is Smashed Peas and Carrots.  When Maggie from Smashed Peas and Carrots posted a tutorial on how to make Shamrock Garland, I knew I had to make this!  I also thought it would be a project Will and I could do together.  It was so quick and easy.  I just love how it turned out!

Shamrock Garland 001

This project takes very few supplies:

green cardstock paper

Paper-Cutter

Stapler

Shamrock Garland 003

I started with 8-1/2 x 11 inch pieces of green cardstock (three shades of green).  I folded each piece in half (like a hamburger bun) and had Will cut 1-inch strips the long way.  Will loves using the paper-cutter.  (he did lose interest in the project once the paper was cut, but at least there was a little bonding time)

Shamrock Garland 002

Shamrock Garland 006

Each shamrock takes four strips of paper (three for each leaf and one for the stem).

making heart Collage

Here is how you make each leaf (heart).  Take one strip and crease it at the fold.  Pull the open ends towards the middle (see arrows) and pinch/hold with your fingers.  Staple the ends together and viola a leaf!  Repeat this for the other two leafs.

Shamrock Garland 012

Staple the two leave to the third.  Leave the bottom two leaves open (not stapled together) so you can attach the stem.

Shamrock Garland 011

Staple the stem between the bottom two leaves.  Using your fingers slightly curl the stem.

Shamrock Garland 015

To turn the shamrocks into garland I just stapled each shamrock to the next.  I really wanted to hang my garland from my fireplace mantel, but couldn’t figure out how to do it.  I ended up pinning with mini-clothespins to a piece of twine I have strung in my kitchen dining area window.  I love how it jazzes up the blinds for the season!  Thanks, Maggie, for the cute idea!

All this talk of shamrocks is making me hungry for a McDonald’s Shamrock Shake!  I hope I can get at least one more before they are gone for the season.

 

Leave a Reply

