Tidbit Times

Tiny Tidbits of my Time

Ironman Birthday Party ~ Part 2 ~ Treat Sacks June 13, 2013

Filed under: Crafty Bits — tidbittimes @ 10:44 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Treat Sacks

Along with candy, stickers and temporary Avengers tattoos, I had two handmade items in the Ironman treat sacks that I’m going to show you in Part 2 of the Ironman Birthday Party posts.  I decided it would be fun to put all the goodies into a clear cone-shaped bag.  I was even able to find coordinating colored M&Ms and Sixlets.  I just tied the top of the bag together with maroon and gold ribbon.

Superhero Suckers

First up, Superhero Suckers!  I found this idea on Pintrest, but there was no further link to anything other than the picture.

IMG_3517

I hand-drew the cape pattern on an index card and then traced the shape on the maroon-colored felt.  I cut the triangle shape out of the gold-colored felt.

IMG_3518

I also punched a small hole in the top-center of each cape using a hole punch.  Glue the gold triangles on the capes.

IMG_3519

You can see I printed the message “Thanks for Coming!” on white cardstock and used a circle punch to cut them out. Next, using the hole punch I added a hole at the top and bottom of each circle (to insert the sucker)

IMG_3521

To assemble just insert the sucker stick through the cape and then through each hole in the circle message piece.  Very quick and easy project.

IMG_4040

Next up, the Ironman Mask!  I also found this on Pintrest which led me to Jessica at Cutesy Crafts.  She gives great tips here and has patterns for a whole variety of superhero masks.  I made all Ironman for Will’s party.  I would suggest going here to get more detailed instructions for making the masks.  I’m just going to briefly show you how I made them (plus I forgot to take pictures during the process).

Pattern Collage

I copied the Ironman pattern (found here) on cardstock and cut out the pieces to use as a pattern.  Next, I traced the patterns onto the felt using a fade-away pen.  One pattern is traced on gold felt and the other on maroon felt.   I cut two of each maroon piece per mask.

Mask Collage

First, I sewed the gold piece on top of one of the maroon pieces using gold thread.  Remember to also sew around the eye holes.  Next, I laid this piece on top of the second maroon piece.  In between the two pieces secure the 3/4″ elastic piece (14-inches long).  Sew around the whole mask using maroon thread.  Also, remember to sew around the eye holes during this step.   That’s all there is to it!  It was a really fun project and they were a big hit at the party.

Will's 5th Birthday 073

The Birthday Boy Ironman!

Will's 5th Birthday 085

The Whole Crazy Ironman Gang!

 

Leave a Reply

