Tidbit Times

Tiny Tidbits of my Time

Turkey Table Favors November 25, 2013

Filed under: Crafty Bits — tidbittimes @ 9:03 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

Turkey Table Favors

Thanksgiving is just a few days away.  For once in my life, I’m way ahead of the game and have these cute favors ready to share with our families.  I got this super cute idea and very fun project from one of my favorite blogs: Smashed Peas and Carrots.

Materials

Materials:

Muslin

Baker’s Twine

Scrapbook Papers

Googly Eyes

Hot Glue Gun & Glue Sticks

Sewing the Bags

Sewing Collage

You can just buy the bags, but the only ones I could find were pretty spendy for a small quantity.  I decided I would take on the challenge of sewing the bags.  1) Cut a piece of 10″ x 3″ muslin  2)  Fold it in half (5″ x 3″)  3) Sew up the sides (leave an open spot to pull the twine through)  4) Fold over the edge about 1/2″ as a casing for the twine (I found it much easier to just sew the twine right in the casing rather than trying to pull it through afterwards  5)  Turn the bag right side out

IMG_1056

Decorate your bag with googly eyes, orange paper beaks and red paper waddles.

IMG_1061

You can either make a feather template and cut out five feathers for each turkey, or take the easy way out like I did and cut the feather shapes out on the Cricut.  I used a petal shape from the Art Philosophy cartridge.  Next, I glued the feathers together as pictured.  I used hot glue to attach the paper feathers to the back of the muslin turkey bag.

Treats

Last, and best of all, fill up your turkey bags with yummy treats.  Our treat of choice was a variety of chocolate!

Happy Thanksgiving!!!!

 

Leave a Reply

