Tidbit Times

Tiny Tidbits of my Time

Photo-covered Letter May 3, 2014

Filed under: Crafty Bits — tidbittimes @ 3:10 pm
Tags: , , ,

Photo-covered Letter

 

Finally, finally, after two years of having this project pinned I got around to making it happen!  I decided my scrapbooking weekend retreat was the time to get it done.  I know several of you were hoping for a tutorial after I posted a picture of it on Facebook.  You are in luck — here it is!

I pinned this project from A Little Moore.  I made a few variations of her original project so check hers out, too.

Materials:

1 wooden or paper mache monogram letter (mine was wood and about 12-15″ high

Black and White photos (I fit 9 photos on my letter)

Black craft paint

Foam brushes

Mod Podge (matte finish)

Scissors

Pen

IMG_1901

First, I painted the letter (front, back and sides) with black craft paint.  I probably wouldn’t have needed to paint the front, but I thought if some of it showed through with poor cutting or odd photos I’d be covered.

Next, I laid the pictures on top of the letter to see where they would fit best.  Be ready to really crop and cut your pictures.  When you choose pictures try to find ones that were taken a little further away – they seem to fit best. When I went to actually cut the pictures I laid the letter on top of the photo and traced around the letter with a pen.  That made it easy to cut the picture to fit and cover the top of the letter.  Sometimes I cut the picture bigger than needed so they would overlap some.

 

 

 

IMG_1902

 

I used Mod Podge to glue each picture to the wooden letter.  After it dried, I used a small scissors to trim any pictures that hung over the edge.  Lastly, I applied three coats of Mod Podge over the top of all the pictures.  I let it dry between each coat.

Blog

I rested the letter on a shelf in our bedroom with two other framed pictures.  Now I’d really like to try this project at a larger scale for another place in our house.  Hopefully, it won’t take me another 2 years to get it completed.

 

 

Leave a Reply

