Tidbit Times

Tiny Tidbits of my Time

Car Garage February 1, 2015

Filed under: Crafty Bits — tidbittimes @ 2:29 pm

Car Garage

My two-year-old just love Disney’s Cars cars.  When I saw this cute idea for a Cars garage, I knew I had to make it for Bennett.  I found the original post here.  It was an easy project that took a couple of afternoons to put together.

Materials:

Wood Crate

Toilet Paper Tubes (approx 50)

Spray Paint

Craft Glue

Modge Podge

Computer Printout as decoration

Cars!

Craft Tubes

I did have a stash of toilet paper tubes I’ve been collecting for a rainy day, but then I found these craft tubes on the 80% off Christmas clearance at Michael’s.  They were cheap and a little sturdier.  I snatched them up.

IMG_20150118_134038053

Since they were Christmas designs I needed to spray paint them.  I chose to use grey spray paint.  Luckily, I got a nice day in January in South Dakota to spray them outside without freezing!  I had to put about 3 coats of paint on them.

IMG_20150119_135706701

Once the paint is dry you can glue them into your wooden crate.  I found this crate at Michael’s as well and it was the perfect size.  I dipped one end of each tube in Tacky Glue and pressed it in the bottom of the crate.  After all the tubes were placed in the crate I set several large textbooks on top of it to make sure they dried securely.  (I knew my husband’s gazillion textbooks we’ve moved so many times would come in handy).

IMG_20150124_111551161

I printed out a couple of labels that said “Benny’s Garage” with stars in a word processing program on my computer.  Then I printed it out in color and used Modge Podge to adhere it to the wood crate.  Add the cars and enjoy the fun of taking them in and out of the garage.  The tubes are just large enough for the Cars cars to fit since they are a little larger than matchbox cars.

IMG_20150124_111558019

A few of the vehicles are too large to fit in the tubes, so we just put them on top of the garage.

 

Leave a Reply

