Tidbit Times

Tiny Tidbits of my Time

Pencil Roll February 15, 2016

Filed under: Crafty Bits — tidbittimes @ 4:16 pm
Tags: , , ,

SONY DSC

Like many adults, I got an adult coloring book for Christmas this year.  There was, however, a shortage of colored pencils in town after Christmas.  I was able to check my reserves and found an old box of Crayola colored pencils from who knows when to get me by until I could find some new ones.  I quickly found out 1) I needed more shades of colors and 2) I needed to be able to see all my pencils at once outside of the box.

I found a pattern for a fabric pencil roll on Pintrest here and had to make one for myself and one for my mom.  I love how it turned out and it is the perfect home to my new palate of 50 colored pencils.

SONY DSC

Materials

2 coordinating patterned fabrics (cut 12″ x 18″)

Coordinating Thread

Coordinating Ribbon

SONY DSC

                       Start by placing the right sides (pretty sides) of the two fabrics together.  Pin them in place.

SONY DSC

        Sew around the rectangle, but leaving about a 4 inch opening to turn it right side out.

After sewing around the rectangle, pull the fabric through the opening so that the right side of the fabric is showing.

Iron your fabric rectangle.  Next, use a decorative stitch to sew around the rectangle and to secure the opening.

It is hard to see in my picture, but I used a wavy line decorative stitch.

SONY DSC

Now fold up the bottom about 4 inches or so to create the pencil holder pockets.

Using disappearing ink, make line guides about every inch or so.

SONY DSC

Sew the vertical lines using a straight stitch.  Be sure to stop at the top of the folded fabric.  Also sew the ends of the fabric to create pockets at each end.  This is where you may want to add a ribbon to one end before sewing it closed.  That way you can wrap up your roll with a tie.

SONY DSC

Add your pencils and roll it up!  When I got more pencils I was able to fit two pencils in each slot so my roll holds about 50 colored pencils.  It makes it easy to store and to carry with me.  Bring on the stress relief of coloring!

I am loving it especially while watching the latest episode of Downton Abbey!

 

 

Leave a Reply

