Tidbit Times

Tiny Tidbits of my Time

Red Velvet Cake Balls December 7, 2011

Filed under: Tasty Bits — tidbittimes @ 2:59 pm
Tags: , ,

 

I first tried this recipe last Christmas.  They seemed to be a big hit, so I wanted to give them another try this year.  We did some tweaking to the process to make them much easier to make.  Hope you will enjoy this recipe.

 

 

Red Velvet Cake Balls

1 Red Velvet Cake Mix

1 can Cream Cheese Frosting

White and Chocolate Almond Bark or Candi Quik

Sprinkles or other things to jazz them up

(Makes approximately 60 cake balls)

 

 

Bake the Red Velvet cake as instructed on the box.  After the cake has cooled, break/crumble it apart into a bowl.  Mix it together with the whole can of cream cheese frosting. 

 

 

This is what it will look like.

 

 

Using either your hands or a small cookie scoop, form your cake balls.  My mother-in-law came up with the genius idea of inserting a toothpick into each ball for easier dipping (this was a great change!).  I placed the cake balls into a cake pan lined with parchment paper so I could freeze them.  I did this first step one day, and the dipping a couple of days later.    Place the cake balls into the freeze so that they will chill for easier dipping.

 

 

The next genius idea came from my husband (this must run in the family).  He suggested to melt the almond bark in the microwave and then place it into a mini crock pot so keep it melted.  This was another great addition to the process.  Dip each frozen cake ball into white or chocolate almond bark, covering the whole thing.  Place them on waxed paper and to harden (remove the toothpick).  About half of the batch I sprinkled with Christmas-colored sprinkles after I placed them on the waxed paper.  The other half of the batch, I drizzled with the opposite color of almond bark . 

 

 

Ta-da!  Church women’s Christmas potluck and work cookie exchange here we come!

 

 

One Response to “Red Velvet Cake Balls”

  1. JAG Says:

    I do the toothpick trick when making peanut butter balls as well; works great for those too!


Leave a comment